The limestone schoolhouse, the last remaining structure in the former town of Lanesfield, is the oldest operating schoollhouse in Johnson County. Students attended from 1869 - 1963 when the school closed. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. The site today includes the original schoolhouse, four outbuildings, and a modern visitors center that houses the exhibit One-Room Schools in Kansas, a museum store, and restrooms.
The site also features seven interpretive panels on the grounds that tell the story of the schoolhouse, the town of Lanesfield and itsconnection with General and U.S. Senator James H. Lane, the reasons for the town's eventual decline, Santa Fe Trail history, stories of the local Border War, and the agricutural experience in Johnson County. An accompanyingaudio tour is also available. Visitors are welcome to tour site grounds during daylight hours. National Park Service Passport Stamps are available outside the Visitor Center entrance.