News Releases

Calendar of Events

News Releases

Public Meetings


Meeting Minutes

Special Events

Nancy Wallerstein is JCPRD Board Chair for 2007
POSTED: 01/31/2007
Nancy Wallerstein of Prairie Village was recently elected by her fellow Johnson County Park and Recreation District Board of Commissioners to serve as chair during 2007.

"We continue to look for ways to serve our citizens and provide programs and services throughout the county," Wallerstein said. "In 2007 we will make the very most of our limited funding by completing a number of significant capital improvement projects within our parks and by beginning several others including the planned improvements to Shawnee Mission Park Lake. We also will work cooperatively throughout the community to address a wide range of recreational needs and to identify strategies for fully funding our Master Action Plan, MAP 2020."

Wallerstein has been a member of the District Board since February 1999. She previously served as chair in 2002. In 2005, she successfully chaired the committee that planned the Johnson County Sesquicentennial Celebration and Community Festival at The Theatre in the Park at Shawnee Mission Park. She is a founding member of the Johnson County Art Fest organizing committee that presented a two-week art exhibition of Johnson County artists at the Ernie Miller Nature Center in November of 2005 and 2006.

A native of the Kansas City area, Wallerstein has lived in Prairie Village since 1979, where she served on the City Council for nine years. While on the council, she served as the council’s liaison to the Prairie Village Municipal Arts Council and as vice chair of the city’s Communications Committee. She was also a member of the Prairie Village Park and Recreation Committee for 15 years, including six years as chair and three years as vice chair. She chaired the swimming pool improvement committee, which oversaw a $4 million renovation of the Prairie Village municipal pool into a state-of-the-art water park. She was also responsible for overseeing major renovations to Prairie Village’s eight city parks.

Wallerstein currently serves as the JCPRD Board of Commissioner’s liaison to The Theatre in the Park. She is active on several boards including the Johnson County Museums, the Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce, the Shawnee Mission Indian Museum Foundation, The Barn Players, the Johnson County Citizens for the Arts Coalition as well as other ad hoc committees. She previously was a member of the Shawnee Mission School District’s East Area Advisory Board and completed the Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership Northeast program. Her husband, Ed, is a humor stylist and writer at Hallmark. They are the parents of an adult daughter, Bess.

Other 2007 Officers

Other Board officers for 2007 elected during the Board’s December meeting are: James R. Azeltine, vice chair; Dr. Marvin E. Wollen, secretary; Gary K. Montague, treasurer; Anthony Adams, assistant secretary: George J. Schlagel; and Paul E. Alvarado, past chair.

Back To News

[ contact us ] [ jobs ] [ volunteering ] [ permits and fees ] [ activities ]
JCPRD Logo National Gold Medal Winner For Park and Recreation Excellence
Copyright © 2017-2018 Johnson County Park & Recreation District.
All Rights Reserved.